Want something updated on this wiki more quickly? You can make a request here.

Runes

From Advent of Ascension Wiki
(Redirected from Wither Rune)
Jump to: navigation, search
This article contains out of date information.
Runes
Runes.gif
Statistics
Type Ammunition
Renewable Yes
Stackable Yes (64)
Version Added See individual runes.
Name aoa3:X_rune
(replace "X" with wind, fire, energy, etc).

Runes are a series of items, each inscribed with a different element. Their primary use is as ammunition for staves.

Obtaining[edit | edit source]

Rune Shrine[edit | edit source]

Runes can be obtained from a rune shrine, this being the best way to obtain an individual specific rune in mass quantities.

Obtaining runes using this method requires a very specific process. To obtain a rune, the player must first find a Rune Shrine structure, which can be found in certain dimensions. Once the player has found one, the player has to use either an Unpowered Rune or Charged Rune on the Rune Shrine block at the center of the structure (the player will need to place a Rune Shrine block in the structure's center, except for Wind Runes, whose structure comes with one). The player can use an Unpowered or Charged rune on the rune shrine to create runes, except in for some runes, which require Charged runes only. The player has to have a certain level of Runation at least in order to create the rune. If the player is not at the correct Runation level minimum, or tries to use an Unpowered rune when a Charged rune is required, then the desired rune will not be created.

Mob drops[edit | edit source]

Goblins and Shyre Trolls have a 100% chance to drop Wind Runes when killed. Sea Trolls have a 100% chance to drop Water Runes when killed. Embrakes have a 100% chance to drop Fire Runes when killed. Wither Wizards have a 100% chance to drop Wither Runes when killed. Arocknids have a 50% chance to drop either Fire or Wither Runes when killed. The chance to get rune drops cannot be increased with the Looting enchantment.

Trading[edit | edit source]

Rune Price Obtained from
Wind Rune.png 40 Wind Runes Silver Coin.png 1 Silver Coin Primordial Wizard
Fire Rune.png 40 Fire Runes Silver Coin.png 1 Silver Coin Primordial Wizard
Wither Rune.png 30 Wither Runes Silver Coin.png 1 Silver Coin Primordial Wizard
Storm Rune.png 30 Storm Runes Silver Coin.png 1 Silver Coin Primordial Wizard
Energy Rune.png 30 Energy Runes Silver Coin.png 1 Silver Coin Primordial Wizard
Kinetic Rune.png 30 Kinetic Runes Silver Coin.png 1 Silver Coin Primordial Wizard

Other methods[edit | edit source]

Runes can also be obtained from a Rune Box, or by using an Unpowered Rune or Charged Rune on a Rune Randomizer.

Usage[edit | edit source]

Ammunition[edit | edit source]

Runes can be used as ammunition for staves.

Each staff will require 1 less of each rune if the player wears a full set of Nightmare Armor or Runation Armor. Rune costs will be halved if the player's staff has the archmage enchantment on it.

Rune Consumption[edit | edit source]

Whenever the player is below 20% health while wearing a full set of Hydrangic Armor, 1 Energy Rune, 1 Distortion Rune, and 1 Life Rune will be consumed (if able) to restore 10 (Heart.png×5) health to the wearer.

A Kinetic Rune can be given to an Alluricorn in return for a short speed boost.

Rune Templar[edit | edit source]

Fire, Water, Energy, and Life/Poison runes are used in conjunction with Runic Energy to play the Rune Templar minigame.

Crafting[edit | edit source]

Name Ingredients Crafting Recipe
Wind Staff 2 Wind Runes + 1 Stick
BlankCraftingGrid.png
Wind Rune
Wind Rune
Stick
Wind Staff
Water Staff 2 Water Runes + 1 Stick
BlankCraftingGrid.png
Water Rune
Water Rune
Stick
Water Staff
Fire Staff 2 Fire Runes + 1 Stick
BlankCraftingGrid.png
Fire Rune
Fire Rune
Stick
Fire Staff
Poison Staff 2 Poison Runes + 1 Stick
BlankCraftingGrid.png
Poison Rune
Poison Rune
Stick
Poison Staff
Wither Staff 2 Wither Runes + 1 Stick
BlankCraftingGrid.png
Wither Rune
Wither Rune
Stick
Wither Staff
Wither Bow 3 Wither Runes + 3 String
BlankCraftingGrid.png
Wither Rune
mcw:String
Wither Rune
mcw:String
Wither Rune
mcw:String
Wither Bow

Runes[edit | edit source]

There are a total of 14 runes currently in the mod. The table below shows all of the runes there are. The table shows (from left to right) what level of Runation is needed to obtain said rune on the rune shrine, whether the rune type requires charged runes, the location of the rune's rune post, what staves used said rune for ammo, the rune's id, and finally what version said rune was added.

The runes are sorted in the order they can be obtained.

Rune Runation Level Requires Charged Rune? Rune Post Location Used as Ammo for Item Id Version Added
Wind Rune.png Wind Level 1 No Overworld
aoa3:wind_rune 1.1
Fire Rune.png Fire Level 8 No The Nether aoa3:fire_rune 1.1
Water Rune.png Water Level 15 No L'Borean aoa3:water_rune 1.1
Poison Rune.png Poison Level 22 No Vox Ponds aoa3:poison_rune 1.1
Wither Rune.png Wither Level 30 No The Abyss aoa3:wither_rune 1.1
Lunar Rune.png Lunar Level 32 Yes Lunalus aoa3:lunar_rune 1.1
Energy Rune.png Energy Level 36 No Iromine aoa3:energy_rune 1.1
Strike Rune.png Strike Level 42 No The Haven aoa3:strike_rune 1.1
Storm Rune.png Storm Level 49 Yes Greckon aoa3:storm_rune 1.1
Kinetic Rune.png Kinetic Level 54 Yes Gardencia aoa3:kinetic_rune 1.1
Power Rune.png Power Level 59 No Barathos aoa3:power_rune 1.1
Compass Rune.png Compass Level 63 Yes Celeve aoa3:compass_rune 2.1
Distortion Rune.png Distortion Level 65 Yes Mysterium aoa3:distortion_rune 1.1
Life Rune.png Life Level 72 Yes Precasia aoa3:life_rune 1.1

See the Runation page for more information regarding runes and rune creating.

History[edit | edit source]

Version Information
1.1 Added all rune variants excluding Compass Runes. Added the rune shrine structures to the dimensions.
Runes can be obtained from a Rune Randomizer, and from a Primordial Wizard.
?? Runes now require a specific level of Runation in order to be created.
Added ability to create runes in pairs.
2.1 Added Compass Rune.png Compass Runes and their corresponding rune shrine structure.
2.3 Fire and Wither runes are now dropped by Arocknids.
2.4 Runes can now be obtained from Extraction.
2.4.B Runes can now be obtained from a Rune Box.
Goblins and Sea Trolls now drop Wind and Water runes respectively.
Tslat 1.1 Shyre Trolls now drop Wind Runes.