The wiki needs updating but the number of active editors is not high. If you'd like to help to contribute, check out this page for more information.

Portal (block)

From Advent of Ascension Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
This article contains out of date information.

Reason: Horrible outdated/needs better info.

Portal (block)
MissingIcon64.png
Statistics
Hardness ?
Blast resistance ?
Transparent None
Luminance ?
Flammable No
Renewable Yes
Stackable Yes (64)
Tool None
Drops N/A
ID See #Data values

This article is about the physical portal block. For the portal structure, see Ancient Teleportation.

Portals are blocks that transport the player to another dimension upon making contact with them.

Obtaining[edit | edit source]

Most portal blocks to dimensions can be generated in the world by using a realmstone on the carved rune of power on a correctly built portal structure. Doing so will consume the realmstone and generate a 3 block long, 1 block wide, and 4 block tall portal inside the portal structure frame.

Portal blocks cannot be obtained in the player's inventory in survival mode through any means.

Natural generation[edit | edit source]

Entering a dimension[edit | edit source]

When the player enters most dimensions for the first time, portal blocks will spawn as a part of a portal structure in the dimension that the player has entered. The portal blocks generate 3 block long, 1 block wide and 4 block tall inside the portal frame.

Once generated, a new portal will not generate unless the player deletes the old portal or travels far enough away from the old portal's location.

A portal in the shyrelands.

Other generation[edit | edit source]

Mystic Portal Platform[edit | edit source]

A Mystic Portal Platform structure in mysterium contains a portal the Lands of Runandor on it. This portal is 3 blocks long, 1 block wide, and 3 blocks tall.

Ancient cavern and immortallis[edit | edit source]

In the ancient cavern dimension, a 3 block long, 1 block wide, and 3 block tall portal can be found in the main room in the dimension.

In immortallis, two portals, each 2 block long, 1 block wide, and 3 block tall, can be found in the main room.

Usage[edit | edit source]

Portal blocks are used to take the player to other dimensions. If the config option is enabled, they will also take any entities that make contact with them to the other dimension. They are completely indestructible - they cannot be mined by the player, and cannot be destroyed by explosions or flowing water.

Mechanics[edit | edit source]

When the player touches a portal block from any side, it will transport the player (or most entities) to a different dimension instantly.

If the player is any dimension other than the dimension a portal block corresponds to, the player will be transported to the dimension the portal corresponds to, and the portal's coordinates in the other dimension will be saved. If the player is in the dimension the portal corresponds to, and enters that dimension's portal, it will teleport the player to the coordinates of the other portal in the other dimension, even if the portal in the other dimension is destroyed.

For example, if the player is in the overworld, and enters a haven portal, the player will be transported to the haven. If the player is in the haven, and returns through the haven portal, the player will be transported to the overworld, to the coordinates where the haven portal in the overworld was when the player entered, regardless if the portal is there or not.

The Ancient Cavern and Immortallis portals are an exception: entering the portal to go to either dimension will instead place the player in a specific spot away from the portal.

Entering a portal from the overworld should take the player to similar coordinates in the other dimension, the scale is 1 block:1 block, more or less. This is also true for the Nether portal that is obtained with the Nether Realmstone.

Data values[edit | edit source]

These ids are what one would use in commands such as /give, /setblock, etc.

Block Id
Abyss Portal aoa3:abyss_portal
Ancient Cavern Portal aoa3:ancient_cavern_portal
Barathos Portal aoa3:barathos_portal
Borean Portal aoa3:borean_portal
Candyland Portal aoa3:candyland_portal
Celeve Portal aoa3:celeve_portal
Creeponia Portal aoa3:creeponia_portal
Crystevia Portal aoa3:crystevia_portal
Deeplands Portal aoa3:deeplands_portal
Dustopia Portal aoa3:dustopia_portal
Gardencia Portal aoa3:gardencia_portal
Greckon Portal aoa3:greckon_portal
Haven Portal aoa3:haven_portal
Immortallis Portal aoa3:immortallis_portal
Iromine Portal aoa3:iromine_portal
Lelyetia Portal aoa3:lelyetia_portal
Lunalus Portal aoa3:lunalus_portal
Mysterium Portal aoa3:mysterium_portal
Precasia Portal aoa3:precasia_portal
Runandor Portal aoa3:runandor_portal
Shyrelands Portal aoa3:shyrelands_portal
Vox Ponds Portal aoa3:vox_ponds_portal

History[edit | edit source]

TBP

Gallery[edit | edit source]